The Ten Commandments

The division and structure has been open to interpretation throughout history.

Print this page Print this page

Human & Family

Human & Human


Second Command:

"Thou shalt have no other God"--fear of God.

Fifth Command:

"Honor thy father and thy mother."

Tenth Command:

"Thou shalt not covet."


Third Command:

"Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord in vain."

Sixth Command:

"Thou shalt not murder," especially one's family.

Ninth Command:

"Thou shalt not bear false witness."


Fourth Command:

"Remember the Sabbath Day."

Seventh Command:

"Thou shalt not commit adultery."

Eighth Command:

"Thou shalt not steal."

Did you like this article?  MyJewishLearning is a not-for-profit organization.

Please consider making a donation today.

Rabbi Ronald H. Isaacs

Rabbi Ronald H. Isaacs is the spiritual leader of Temple Sholom in Bridgewater, New Jersey. He has served as the publications committee chairperson of the Rabbinical Assembly.